Oulu Medical Research Center

Special expertise in neuroscience in Northern Finland

Medical expertise in Northern Finland is focused at the Oulu University Hospital and the University of Oulu and their research organization (Oulu Medical Research Center, MRC). The neuroscience research unit at the University of Oulu conducts high-quality research aimed at promoting lifelong health. The unit’s research focuses on brain diseases and mental disorders, including disease mechanisms, prevalence, diagnosis, and treatment.

Research infrastructure

The unit’s researchers mainly use research methods based on epidemiology, genetics, biomedicine, interventional research, cognitive science, and brain imaging.

Examples of research

Mitochondrial diseases

Read more

Mitochondrial diseases

Studies focusing on mitochondrial diseases have been at the forefront of international research in producing new information on the incidence, molecular etiology, and clinical expressions of these rare diseases.

Close

Cohort of working age individuals

Read more

Cohort of working age individuals

Our cohort of working-age individuals with memory disorders has provided internationally important information, especially for the study of clinical symptoms, genetics, and cell biology and mechanisms of frontal lobe dementia. Extensive research on memory-related disorders in working-age individuals is also carried out in cooperation with the Finnish Institute of Occupational Health.

Close

Birth cohort studies

Read more

Birth cohort studies

Birth cohort studies in Northern Finland have offered new information regarding the background of schizophrenia and the factors that predispose patients to psychotic illnesses. The collected brain imaging data has been able to identify neural circuits associated with psychosis. Further, the Neurosurgery Research Group is an active developer of medical technology.

Close

Contact us

Kari Majamaa

  • neurologian professori
  • kari.majamaa@oulu.fi

Pirkko Riipinen

  • psykiatrian professori
  • pirkko.riipinen@oulu.fi

Vesa Kiviniemi

  • radiologian dosentti
  • vesa.kiviniemi@oulu.fi

Ville Leinonen

  • neurokirurgian professori
  • ville.leinonen@oulu.fi

Juha Veijola

  • psykiatrian professori
  • juha.veijola@oulu.fi

Anne Remes

  • neurologian professori
  • anne.remes@oulu.fi